For questions about the schedule or other orientation information, please contact eddiee@uwest.edu

Tuesday, August 16

*Mandatory for new students

10am-2pm

Placement Testing, as needed. Contact admissions office if uncertain:
hennah@uwest.edu

2pm – 3pm

ID Card Pictures, in Ken Locke Hall ED-213

3pm

President’s welcome & student panels
Ken Locke Hall ED-213

4:30pm

Campus Tour

5:30pm

Pick up ID cards in ED-209
Light community dinner ED-Patio.

 

Wednesday, August 17

4pm

Academic Program meet & greet.

Please contact your academic chair (see below) to learn where and when you are expected to be for your meet and greet.

• Chair of Business Administration Dr. Bill Chen; billchen@uwest.edu
• Chair of Psychology Dr. Elizabeth Burke; elizabethb@uwest.edu
• Chair of Religious Studies Dr. Miroj Shakya; mirojs@uwest.edu
• Chair of Buddhist Chaplaincy Dr. Victor Gabriel; victorg@uwest.edu
• Co-Chair of Buddhist Chaplaincy Dr. Jitsujo Gauthier; jitsujog@uwest.edu
• Chair of General Education & Liberal Arts, Dr. Kanae Omura; kanaeo@uwest.edu
• ELI Academic Program Coordinator, Jonathan Berk; Jonathanb@uwest.edu

 

Thursday, August 18

*Mandatory for new F-1 students

2pm – 4pm

International Student Orientation, students must bring I-20 & Passport. Ken Locke Hall ED-213.

 

Friday, August 19

Optional fieldtrip, open to all students. Sign up on August 16.

11:30am – 3:00pm

Visit to Hsi Lai Temple, lunch & tour; meet at Founder’s Courtyard

 

SATURDAY, August 20

Optional fieldtrip, open to all students. Sign up on August 16.

8am (departure)

Off-campus morning hike, Chantry Flat; meet at Founder’s Courtyard

3pm

Student Federation Club, BBQ & pool party; residence halls