Student Resources

Academic Advising

The Office of Academic Advising provides undergraduate students with personalized assistance transitioning into university life, setting academic goals, addressing academic concerns, strengthening academic performance, and obtaining their degrees.

Our academic advisors provide the guidance and support you need to succeed, meeting with students one-on-one for academic coaching sessions and facilitating academic success workshops throughout the school year. We help students to assess their interests, values, and academic talents to determine which major will best help them along their path to future career/graduate school goals.

The office works with faculty across all academic departments to stay informed about program requirements, course sequencing, and scheduling and student progress. We are experts on UWest’s guidelines and requirements, so we can help students navigate the administrative aspects of their education.

The Office of Academic Advising also assists with implementing campus-wide initiatives that support student success, such as new student orientation, commencement, and acknowledging honors achievements.

Undergraduate

Business Administration:
Dr. Bill Chen: billchen@uwest.edu

English & Exchange:
Jennifer Avila: JenniferA@uwest.edu
Jonathan Berk: JonathanB@uwest.edu

Liberal Arts/GE:
Dr: Kanae Omura: KanaeO@uwest.edu

Psychology:
Dr. Ashley Coleman: AshleyC@uwest.edu

Graduate

Business Administration
Dr. Bill Chen: billchne@uwest.edu

Buddhist Chaplaincy
Dr. Victor Gabriel: VictorG@uwest.edu

Religious Studies
Dr. Miroj Shakya: mirojs@uwest.edu

Psychology
Dr. Ashley Coleman: ashleyc@uwest.edu

English Language Institute

Jonathan Berk: Jonathanb@uwest.edu

Academic Advisor

Dr. Rickey Jones: Rickeyj@uwest.edu