Staff & Faculty

Faculty/Staff Directory

How to Reach Us

You may reach the campus operator at (626) 571-8811. For general questions, please contact us at info@uwest.edu

IT Help Desk Support

The IT Help Desk is here to support students, faculty, and staff with technology-related questions and issues. Typical examples of support offered include account creation, equipment setup, and connecting devices to the campus wireless network. Please note that service is subject to the Computer and Network Use Agreement and UWest IT Policies. You can contact the IT Help Desk by emailing helpdesk@uwest.edu

Phone: (626) 571-8811
Fax: (626) 571-1413

Enrollment Hotline
(855) GO-UWEST – (855) 468-9378

Office of the President

Title Name Ext. Email Office Hours
President Dr. Minh-Hoa Ta president@uwest.edu
Executive Assistant to President and BOT Grace Hsiao 2102 graceh@uwest.edu
Accreditation Liaison Officer Vanessa Karam 2130 vanessak@uwest.edu
Chair of Faculty Senate William Chu, Ph.D. 2152 williamc@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Vice Chair of Faculty Senate Dr. Chi Sheh, Ph.D. 3381 chisheh@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Secretary of Faculty Senate Dr. Bobby Ojose 3356 bobbyo@uwest.edu
Human Resources Joey Chow 2118  hr@uwest.edu

Academic Affairs

Title Name Ext. Email Office Hours
Chief Academic Officer Dr. Jane Iwamura 3342 janei@west.edu
Institutional Research & Effectiveness Manager Shruti Piduri shrutip@uwest.edu
Academic Advisor Jesse Marinero 2131 jessem@uwest.edu
Registrar Jeanette Anderson 2119 jeanettea@uwest.edu
Assistant Registrar Lorena Gonzalez 3304 lorenag@uwest.edu
Chair & Professor of Business Administration Dr. Bill Chen 2125 billchen@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Associate Professor of Business Administration Dr. Chi Sheh 3381 chisheh@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Associate Professor of Business Administration Prof. Meskerem Tadesse 3380 meskeremt@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Chair & Assistant Professor of Psychology Dr. Elizabeth Burke 2113 elizabethb@uwest.edu
Chair & Associate Professor of Religious Studies Dr. Miroj Shakya 3321 mirojs@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Assistant Chair & Assistant Professor of Religious Studies Dr. Jens Reinke 2114 jensr@uwest.edu
Associate Professor of Religious Studies Dr. William Chu 2152 williamc@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Professor of Religious Studies Dr. Jane Iwamura 3342 janei@uwest.edu
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies Dr. Shou-Jen Kuo 2158 shoujenk@uwest.edu
Emeritus Professor of Religious Studies Dr. Darui Long 3306 daruil@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Emeritus Professor of Religious Studies Dr. Lewis Lancaster
Chair & Associate Professor of Buddhist Chaplaincy Dr. Victor Gabriel 3359 victorg@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Co-Chair & Associate Professor of Buddhist Chaplaincy Dr. Jitsujo Gauthier 3345 jitsujog@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Chair & Assistant Professor of General Education & Liberal Arts Dr. Kanae Omura 2109 kanaeo@uwest.edu View Office Hours
Lecturer in General Education & Liberal Arts Jennifer Avila 2154 jennifera@uwest.edu
Assistant Professor of General Education & Liberal Arts Dr. Bobby Ojose 3356 bobbyo@uwest.edu View Office Hours
ELI/PACE Academic Program Coordinator & Lead TESOL Instructor Jonathan Berk 2111 Jonathanb@uwest.edu
Director of Library Ling Ling Kuo 2135 linglingk@uwest.edu
Librarian Judy Hsu 3320 judyh@uwest.edu
Director of the Institute for the Study of Humanistic Buddhism (ISHB) Dr. Jens Reinke 2114 jensr@uwest.edu
Program Director of the Digital Sanskrit Buddhist Canon Dr. Miroj Shakya 3321 mirojs@uwest.edu View Office Hours

Enrollment Services

 

Title Name Ext. Email Office Hours
Chief Student Services Officer Vanessa Karam 2130 vanessak@uwest.edu
Enrollment Coordinator Nadia Simone 3311 nadias@uwest.edu
Marketing and Social Media Coordinator Fong Sam 2172 fongs@uwest.edu
Admissions Specialist Henna Hung 2120 hennah@uwest.edu
Enrollment Hotline 855-GO-UWEST info@uwest.edu

Student Affairs

Title Name Ext. Email Office Hours
Chief Student Services Officer Vanessa Karam 2130 vanessak@uwest.edu
Title IX Coordinator Vanessa Karam 2130 vanessak@uwest.edu
Student Conduct Officer Eddie Escalante 3317 eddiee@uwest.edu
Student Grievances Eddie Escalante 3317 eddiee@uwest.edu
Director of Financial Aid Lezli Fang 2138 lezliyf@uwest.edu
Financial Aid Advisor Yanela Morgan 2122 yanelam@uwest.edu
Office of Financial Aid financialaid@uwest.edu
PDSO Vanessa Karam 2130 vanessak@uwest.edu
Student Life Coordinator Eddie Escalante 3317 eddiee@uwest.edu
Residence Hall Coordinator Eduardo “Eddie” Bernal 3383 eddieb@uwest.edu
Housing and Residential Life 2190 housing@uwest.edu
Student Success and Disabilities Coordinator Dr. Keith Brown 3377 keithb@uwest.edu
Disability Services Coordinator Dr. Keith Brown 3377 keithb@uwest.edu
International Student Advisor, DSO Janira Cordova 3322

janirac@uwest.edu

Administrative Services

Title Name Ext. Email Office Hours
Chief Financial Officer Amy Chong 2116 amyc@uwest.edu
Senior Accountant – Accounts Payable and Budget Jason Tseng 2124 jasont@uwest.edu
Accountant I – Student Accounts & Receivables Jenny Bui 2123 jennyb@uwest.edu
Accountant II – Payroll & Contributions Joey Chow 2118 joeyc@uwest.edu
Director of Information Technology Rafael Wu 3376 rafaelwu@uwest.edu
Senior IT Engineer James Liao 2137 jamesl@uwest.edu
IT Engineer & Network Administrator Peter Zhou 3303 peterz@uwest.edu
IT Help Desk helpdesk@uwest.edu
Director of General Services Ricky Tan 2128 rickyt@uwest.edu
Procurement and Office Specialist Phillip Lee 2139 phillipl@uwest.edu
Receptionist Laura Ibarra 2100 frontdesk@uwest.edu
Facilities Supervisor Julio Segura 2129 julios@uwest.edu
Custodian Vivian Ventura
Custodian Juana Iris Rodriguez
Safety Coordinator Julio Segura 2129

Office Hours for Jennifer Avila

  • Mondays/Wednesdays/Fridays: 9am-Noon & 1-5pm
  • Thursdays: 1-3pm
  • And by appointment

For immediate assistance, please email jennifera@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x2154 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Joshua Capitanio

  • Fall 2015 Office Hours
  • Tuesday 2 p.m. – 5 p.m.

For immediate assistance, please email joshuac@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x154 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Bill Chen

  • Monday, Tuesday, Friday 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.
  • Wednesday 2 p.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Thursday 3 p.m. – 5 p.m.

For immediate assistance, please email billchen@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x2125 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Edward Chong

  • Office Hours not set.

For immediate assistance, please email edwardc@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x2111 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. William Chu

Office Hours: Thurs. 3-6 pm, & by appointment

For immediate assistance, please email williamc@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x2152 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Ashley Coleman

  • Monday 1 p.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Thursday 2 p.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Also available by appointment

For immediate assistance, please email ashleyc@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x2150 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Victor Gabriel

  • Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • May be in the library.

For immediate assistance, please email victorg@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x3359 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Jitsujo Gauthier

  • Spring 2014
  • Monday, Wednesday 1 p.m. – 3 p.m.
  • By appointment

For immediate assistance, please email jitsujog@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x3345 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Janice S. Gore

  • Spring 2017
  • Tuesday 4 p.m. – 5 p.m.
  • And by appointment
  • Please email for appointment

For immediate assistance, please email janiceg@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x109 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Michael Grosso

  • Office Hours not set.

For immediate assistance, please email michaelg@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x343 and leave a message.

X

Office Hours for Jenny Hannah

  • Wednesdays 3:30-4:30pm • Student Office Hours
  • Wednesdays 4:30-5:30pm • Wellness Outreach

Availability for programs & workshops only, with prior notice. Please contact April Afoa for counseling & consultation services.

X

Office Hours for Jaydee Hughes

  • Monday11:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Thursday12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
  • For a session please pre-arrange an appointment, thank you 🙂

Wellness Center is in ED217

For immediate assistance, please email jaydeeh@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x452 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Jane Iwamura

  • Spring 2020
  • Thursday 2–3 pm and by appointment

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Kanae Omura

  • Tuesdays and Thursdays 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

For immediate assistance, please email kanaeo@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x2109 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Darui Long

  • Office Hours Thur. 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM.

For immediate assistance, please email daruil@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x3306 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Hiroshi Sasaki

  • Wed 5-6pm, Thurs 2-5pm and by appointment

For immediate assistance, please email hiroshis@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x2113 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Chi Sheh

  • Monday5 p.m. – 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday12 p.m. – 2 p.m. and 5 p.m. – 7 p.m.
  • Other times available by appointment.

For immediate assistance, please email chisheh@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x3381 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Dr. Miroj Shakya

  • Fall 2020
  • Tuesday, 1 pm – 4 pm and by appointment
  • Please email to set up an appointment.

For immediate assistance, please email mirojs@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x3321 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Prof. Meskerem Tadesse

  • Office Hours not set.

For immediate assistance, please email meskeremt@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x3380 and leave a message.

X

Office Hours for Denise Pham

  • Wednesday: 12:00PM -5:00PM
  • Thursday: 12:00PM-5:00PM

Wellness Center is in ED217

For immediate assistance, please email denisep@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x452 and leave a message.

X

Faculty Office Hours for Neal Lee

  • Office Hours not set.

For immediate assistance, please email neall@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x457 and leave a message.

X

Office Hours for Bobby Ojose

  • Office Hours not set.

For immediate assistance, please email bobbyo@uwest.edu

Or call at (626) 571-8811 x3356 and leave a message.

X